Day One – 511

We had two great guest speakers today.  Kate McCaffrey and Bev Cholcto-Devlin were kind enough to spend some time sharing their experiences of working in a public library. An internship under either of them would be such a valuable experience, unfortunately I don’t live close enough to make that happen. Having worked in an urban library setting I found Kate’s stories an affirmation of this choice.

The afternoon session had interesting information on search engines and offered some excellent hints on how to utilize them more efficiently.  We were also exposed to some really great websites. Here they are if you want to check them out:
•    www.lii.org
•    www.archive.org/web/web.php
•    http://en.childrenslibrary.org/
•    http://joblist.ala.org/ The most important one for finding those temporary jobs that I want to fill!

Scott also showed us how to be more efficient in our searches. Watch out TPL patrons I am going to be using you as guinea pigs when I get back.

Now it’s off to finish communicating with my group about the poster project and then finish up the search assignment. Did somebody say sleep?

Leave a comment